Death to Twitter Bots

So I handle the twitter feeds for my company. I’m not an expert like some, but I like to think I know the ins and outs of producing good content, on who to follow, etc. I recently created a tweet with no real thought in mind. Checking my streams over the weekend, this one particular tweet had received over 200 RTs and we had gained 89 new followers. Wow – was the content I created really that good? Had I finally captured the voice our followers had been seeking all along? NOPE.

images

I was too in the clouds in my recent twitter success to realize that if it’s looks too good to be true, it probably is. My CEO kindly brought me down to earth the next morning when she told me that Bots were the cause. BOTS? Hells no! Tell me it ain’t so! My preemptive success at as a content writer suddenly took a hit, from bots.

I did a little research behind these vicious dream-crushing Bots and realized that I had indeed been a fool. This useful article helped me wrap my head around what to look for:

How to Recognize Twitter Bots: 7 Signs to Look Out For

Another article gave good insight as to what these bot profiles typically look like (follows a lot of account but relatively few followers, icons or white female photo pics, generic looking or repetitive tweets, etc etc.). Most bots will unfollow within 24 hours, but I wasn’t going to let them have the chance to beat me to the punch. I blocked 84 of them within 3 minutes.

Lesson learned.